Jamdani Saree Types | Based on motifs and the region

Jamdani Saree Types are classified on the based of motifs and the region where it produced. There are at least six varieties of Jamdani sarees.

Jamdani Saree Types

According to Location, Jamdani Saree (জামদানি শাড়ি) Types can be declared 5 types. Though there is no alternative to Dhakai Jamdani. One Dhakai Jamdani may take nine months to a year to weave.

Bengal is the main place of this Saree. In 1947 Bengal has divided. Some weavers shift them from Bangladesh to West Bengal, India. Shantipur and Dhaniakhali are the two place in West Bengal. Now Jamdani industry has built there.

  • Dhakai Jamdani (Bangladesh)
  • Tangail Jamdani (Bangladesh)
  • Shantipur Jamdani (India)
  • Dhaniakhali Jamdani (India)
  • Begumpur Jamdani

Other Variations

Design Motifs

Jamdani is famous for its geometric design. The weavers do not need to draw the design on paper. It comes from their mind and memory. Jamdani Sari is also known for its design.

  • Panna Hajar – পান্না হাজার (thousand emeralds),
  • Dubli Jal – দুবলি জাল
  • Duria – ডুরিয়া (polka spots)
  • kalka – কলকা পাড় (paisley)
  • Butidar – বুটিদার (small flowers)
  • Fulwar (flowers arranged in straight rows)
  • Tersa – তেরছা (diagonal patterns)
  • Jalar – জালার
  • Charkona- চারকোণা (rectangular motifs) and more.


For quality Jamdani, they used yarn of 200 to 250 counts. Four types of cotton are used to make Jamdani. These are:

  • Half Silk
  • Full Cotton
  • Full Silk
  • Nylon

Related Links


2 thoughts on “Jamdani Saree Types | Based on motifs and the region

Post Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Jamdani has different design with exclusive color. The design comes from the memory of Karigor.


Cost depends on design. More design more price.


Jamdani has different color. Golden color is very popular one. White and red also has demand.